The legacy app will still work as normal after the launch of Social Dummy Stories.
After a considerable amount of time when the majority of accounts have been moved to the new iteration, the legacy app will eventually shut down and all data will be deleted. You will be given plenty of notice when this will happen - not anytime soon.
It is your responsibility to migrate your data from the legacy app using the tool in Social Dummy Stories. This is not automatic.